Knowledge Programme > Our 16 Study Committees and domains of work

Technical direction


Our 16 Study Committees and domains of work


To translate CIGRE’s strategic focus in to specific technical knowledge CIGRE works within 16 domains of work, each with its own expert global Study Committee and programme of work. This is the ‘engine room’ that drives CIGRE’s power system knowledge development and covers the key technical domains of the power system.



CIGRE's Study Committees and domains of work


Group A – Equipment

A1  Power generation and electromechanical energy conversion

A2  Power transformers and reactors 

A3  Transmission and distribution equipment


Group B – Technologies

B1  Insulated cables

B2  Overhead lines

B3  Substations and electrical installations

B4  DC systems and power electronics

B5  Protection and automation


Group C – Systems

C1  Power system development and economics

C2  Power system operation and control

C3  Power system sustainability and environmental performance

C4  Power system technical performance

C5  Electricity markets and regulation

C6  Active distribution systems and distributed energy resources


Group D – New Materials and IT

D1  Materials and emerging test techniques

D2  Information systems telecommunications and cybersecurity



Detailed Scope

Follow this link for a detailed summary of CIGRE’s scope of work as at 2022.


CIGRE’s 16 Study Committees have more than 250 working groups active at any one time. View the current list here.